It’s that day of the year again, the one you should probably ‘remember, remember’ a.k.a. the V-th of November.

So, besides commemorating Guy Fawkes night by attending a bonfire/firework display, a lot of movie enthusiasts would probably reach for the obvious movie choice for this particular date – V for Vendetta.

I should admit that I, myself, am one of those people who would watch the film every year on November 5th. But then I started wondering. ..What did people watch on this day before V for Vendetta came out in 2005? Surely, there were other films before that with a similar focus.

Therefore, I decided to present you with my less obvious film choices for today, and they are…

(Drums)

….

The Matrix (1999) and Equilibrium (2002) !!!

Why? Because in order to be relevant enough the movies need to:

1)      Be centered around the theme of social and/or physical oppression, where the chosen few on top of the power pyramid control the rest of the population by brainwashing them into obedient sheep (by means of words, technology or drugs). Check!

2)      Have a protagonist who starts as a part of the ‘sheep herd’, but evolves into a hero who is capable of setting people free, both mentally and physically. Check!

3)      Show that the road to change is not an easy one and that bringing about a revolution will take a lot of innocent victims along the way. Check!

4)      On the overall, have a feel and visual presentation similar to that of V for Vendetta. (Well, since the Wachowski siblings are the names behind both The Matrix and V for Vendetta, you can imagine the similarities there, not least of which is a central appearance by Hugo Weaving. As for Equilibrium, it is essentially The Matrix minus the machines, plus some nasty emotion-suppressing drugs). So, Check and Check!

So, these are my suggestion which you might consider taking on board! On the other hand, if you come up with some other suitable movie ideas, please do tell! 🙂

Happy watching! 🙂

About mformariya

I love films and everything that has something to do with them. I read a lot on cinema in my spare time. I actually wrote my dissertation in Business and Management on film marketing, and I am currently doing an MA in Cultural and Creative Industries with a focus on Film/TV. So basically I am interested in anything that can bring me closer to movies, regardless of the perspective. The main reason for me to start this blog is that I watch too many movies which leads to too many opinions (more than my friends can bear), so I decided to use my passion for constructive purposes :)

Leave a Reply

